Movie Fact #153 – June 2nd, 2013:

Director Ang Lee, director of such films as “Life of Pi” in 2012 and “Brokeback Mountain” in 2005, actually has a couple special notes. First and foremost he is the only recipient of the Academy Award for Best Director who is not Caucasian (American or European). Also, he is one of only seven living directors who have won the Directors Guild of America Award more than once. The other six are Steven Spielberg who has won it 3 times, two-time winners Clint Eastwood, Ron Howard, Francis Coppola, Oliver Stone and Milos Forman. However, Lee is unique in this group in that he is the only one not to have directed a Best Picture Oscar winner. He is also one of 7 directors to win the Golden Globe, Director’s Guild, BAFTA, and Oscar for the same movie when he won for “Brokeback Mountain”. The other directors to achieve this are Mike Nichols for The Graduate in 1967, Milos Forman for “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” in 1975,Richard Attenborough for “Gandhi” in 1982, Oliver Stone for “Platoon” in 1986, Steven Spielberg for “Schindler’s List” in 1993, and Danny Boyle for “Slumdog Millionaire” in 2008. Interestingly enough, Lee didn’t direct his first movie till he was 38 years old with the film “Pushing Hands” in 1992. He has achieved quite a lot and to not give him credit be a true shame. It seems with his streak the question is not if he’ll win another Oscar but when?

Published in: on June 2, 2013 at 10:38 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s